Saxophone Forum

by chiamac
(586 posts)
20 years ago

Pre gig nerves

So how do people overcome nerves and being scared/anxious on stage before and during a gig? (other than play out for people a lot) I have a gig coming up in Eau Clare tonight (a dj thing though, but the same thing) I just tell myself “Andy, you have practiced for this day for years now, you’re ready – and it’s time to go out there, show off for people, and HAVE FUN!” This worked for me all though high school and into college. I do the same thing for tests in school and other things that require me to do something to prove myself. But how do you guys do it? Is there any pep talk you give yourselves, or do something that gets you ready for the show?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by SaxMan
    (559 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Pre gig nerves

I don't really get nervous...I used ot before, but once I started playing, I would be fine. Unless I don't quite play something the way that I would have liked to, then I might gt choked up a little...but after the next set of rests I am fine. stress is more of a problem for me...like if I break my one marginal reed, and I only have a few abysmal ones that I am frantically trying to adjust so it will at least allow me to express myself, then that kind of messes me up, stuff like that.

Reply To Post

2. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago