Saxophone Forum

by saxjazza22
(13 posts)
20 years ago

inexpensive vintage saxes- anyone know where I can find one?

Hi, does anyone know where I can find an inexpensive vintage saxophone? I am a middle school student and just got into the jazz band, and my teacher said my cleavland sax just wasn't good enough for his band. He recomended getting a vintage sax. Since I am just a student, I only have about $300 to spend. Anyone know where I can find a good vintage horn for that price? Thanks

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by cfsatb
    (11 posts)

19 years ago

Re: inexpensive vintage saxes- anyone know where I can find one?

Considering your budget, I agree w/ the commentator that said "fix your saxophone & get a good mouthpiece." This may be old school, but a Selmer C* is a great classical/all round mouthpiece & the Meyer mouthpieces are the most common alto mthpcs that pros that I know use. (Tenor sax: otto links) good luck!

Reply To Post

2. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

Your teacher is a moron. Now that I've gotten that out of the way, have your horn (King Cleveland?) set up by a professional and get a decent jazz mouthpiece/reed setup. $300 won't get you a vintage horn that much better than you already have. You have to start looking at around $800 before you might find something vintage that is decent. Otherwise, it's just old and would need lots of major repair$. A middle school jazz band doesn't need a sax line filled with Mark VI's. He must be a brass player...

Reply To Post

1. by Jack Cici
      (87 posts)

20 years ago

YOU CAN FIND GREAT DEALS FOR VINTAGE SAXES ON EBAY.THAT'S WERE I GOT MY 1922 KING ALTO SAXOPHONE AND IT WORKS GREAT!IT HAS ROLLED TONE HOLES,G#TRILL KEY AND ROLLERS ON THE LOW KEYS.I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT YOU BUY A USED SAX FROM EBAY

Reply To Post

2. by saxjazza22
      (13 posts)

20 years ago