Saxophone Forum

by alexcoconuts
(2 posts)
16 years ago

What sax should I buy?

I have been playing alto for 5 years, and will be a sophomore in September. I'd like a sax that works for both marching (we have a pretty big band so I have to be loud=) and concert band. I have about a $2000 budget, and am stepping up from beginner horn to intermediate or pro. I have a Yamaha YAS23 now and heard some good ones were Yamaha 475 or 62 or 62II Selmer LaVoix or the Action series Jupiter 769GN? If you could give a review of each sax that would be awesome. And other suggestions, too, thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Altonian11
    (39 posts)

16 years ago

Re: What sax should I buy?

It's yamaha or nothing. NO contest NO debates. It's the "cadillac of saxophones"

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

16 years ago

obviously you havent heard of a couple horns, for example: (the alto version, for simplicity. assume the others in the series are similarly good) conn 6m selmer mkVI king zypher special King super20/silversonic Buescher top hat and cane Selmer balanced action/super balanced action selmer reference series Keilworth SX90 The Martin Alto Yanigasawa 991/2 and the list goes on. to only concider one brand of saxophone is pure ignorance

Reply To Post

2. by clamness
    (13 posts)

15 years ago

I play a Mark VI, but I was recently killing time and my patience at Sam Ash in White Plains. So I tried the Yamaha Z thing, the new Selmer pro model (forgot the name), and the Mauriat. To my surprise I was digging the Mauriat the most. It has a vintage dark sound, and was responsive from top to bottom. It's a great horn, and cost less than either of them. Not to mention it looks perhaps too pretty to play. The Yamaha was nice, but one dimensional, and the Selmer was a little hollow sounding somehow. I used my Meyer 6M on all three with #3 1/2 reeds.

Reply To Post

3. by jazzman47
    (4 posts)

15 years ago