Saxophone Forum

by Altonian11
(39 posts)
16 years ago

The Better Buy?

I've got all the time in the world to decide for myself, so don't feel like it's your civic duty to answer. I've been playing saxophone for three years now, and I own a green Selman soprano, a Yamaha YAS-23, and a Yamaha YBS-52. I'm keeping the bari and the soprano for the rest of my life. But when I get older, I would like to get a better sound quality from my alto. Below is my top four choices, some alto, some tenor, what would be my best choice for the future? Money wise, and quality wise YAS-475 intermediate $1,733 YAS-62II professional $2,243 YTS-475 intermediate $2,035 YTS-575AL intermediate $1,890 a directors opinion is prefferable

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxxsymbol
    (217 posts)

16 years ago

Re: The Better Buy?

If you want a lifetime quality horn stick with a 62 series or above with the yamahas. that is one of the definitions of a pro horn is to be able to stand up to daily rigorous use for a lifetime with minimal maintenance.

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

16 years ago

pro horn, definatly. but dont get sucked into one brand, try multiple ones. the pro horn wont "improve" your sound as much as practicing will.

Reply To Post

1. by Altonian11
        (39 posts)

16 years ago

yeah, I've looked at the selman altos and tenors, but they just look like selmer knock-offs. Anyway, this is for the far future. I'm only in middle school, so I don't know much about these sort of things

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

16 years ago