Saxophone Forum

by dmoney
(9 posts)
14 years ago

My Cannonball Gerald Albright tenor

Im a sophomore in highschool and when i was in 8th grade bought a gerald albright tenor for about 1600 at a local music store. so naturally not knowing anything about quality saxes at the time, decided to buy it for the looks. needless to say, im currently stuck with the horn being in 10th grade. trust me, i know the horn doesnt make the player but im not too fond of it. and it doesnt have a high resale value and i stained the silver part with my fingerprints that wont come out. i want to get a better horn but my parents know nothing about music and dont understand why i dont like it. they paid 1600 for it and the store we bought it from convinced my parents that it was an amazing horn.. which it isnt. so they still beleive its a super instrument and when i tell them its not, the only thing they can think of is "well, the guy at the store said it was good". i know that we can spend 8000 on a horn, but i plan on going to college for music and want to upgrade. ive played it with a dukoff, meyer, and an otto link super tone master. any suggestions? let me reiterate that i understand that the player isnt made by the horn.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by teggvb6
    (6 posts)

14 years ago

Re: My Cannonball Gerald Albright tenor