Saxophone Forum

by lauren
(4 posts)
14 years ago

new to saxaphone

I am diabled veteran and looking to play the alto saxphone. I dont have much money and I dont want a used one. I like Kessler custom saxphone antique one for $799. I dont know if this is the best for the price. I dont read notes so I have to start from scratch. Any help will be appreciated... than you Lauren

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mr breeze
    (3 posts)

14 years ago

Re: new to saxaphone

I am new here so perhaps what I have to say is too little too late. The other responses while all technically correct are of little value to you. I have been playing sax since 1965 and still do . I have played on good horns and bad. As a learner you will absolutely not be able to tell the difference between a good sax and a bad one. And price is not the definitive measure of a sax's playablity. Until you have developed a reasonable amount of skill as a player there is no reason for you to spend a lot of money on what someone else tells you is a good sax. And since the vast majority of people who aspire to learn how to play an instrument quit before reaching the accomplishment it would be wiser not to invest heavily because you will not get your money back in full. Spend the money you can afford on whatever sax you find at that price. Then wait to see if you fall in love. If you are not driven to constantly pick the instrument even when you are only able to blow a few notes. If you have to organize practice as a routine rather than being constantly drawn to it. Then sadly you probably will not master any instrument. Every musician I have ever known is in love with making music on his particular instrument (or hers). It is what they do to relax. It is a part of them which is unescapable and undeniable. Think of these things and explore your reality. After that worry about which sax is better than which. A great sax player can make beautiful sounds on an old leaky crap horn. A b