Saxophone Forum

by BariX
(10 posts)
12 years ago

LA Sax Vs Yamaha

I’m in the market of purchasing my very first sax.  I have 6 years of experience playing the bari (YBS-52) and 2 years playing the alto prior to stepping up to the big dog.  It’s been quite some time since I’ve picked up a sax.  I love the bari, but unfortunately cannot afford to spend 5k plus on an instrument.  I am looking at purchasing a tenor.  The LA Sax has caught my eye for its reasonable price in intermediate and professional models.  However, I cannot find any local dealers that sell them or have really heard anything about LA Sax.  This seems like a red flag to me.  I have $1,200 saved and would like to buy new.  I want something that sounds great while not breaking the bank.  I don’t want a student model, something cheap, or to waste my money.  I do not have the luxury of playing the LA Sax before purchasing it.  My question is, has anyone played an LA sax and are they a decent instrument?  I am looking at their series 1 tenors.  All I know is Yamaha and they’re a great instrument.  They’re also expensive and it would take me much longer to step into a YTS-62 or 82 series which would be more than double in price.  All information is helpful.

Thanks           

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Saxquest
    (420 posts)

12 years ago

Re: LA Sax Vs Yamaha

The $1200 price range is a tough one for a new professional saxophone. I have a decent amount of experience with LA Sax as they come through our repair shop quite often. I'm definitely not impressed with the overall feel of the LA Sax. Its always felt like a student sax to me both in terms of ergonomics and sound. I've also not been impressed with the mechanics and the build quality.