Saxophone Forum

by davidwhiggs
(3 posts)
12 years ago

American Standard High Grade Alto Saxophone Model # B301 - Value?

I just acquired a vintage alto and was hoping to get a rough idea of its worth. It is silver color with pearl buttons, and has all its original parts, including the neck, ligature, mouthpiece cover, two music clips, leather neck band, etc., and what I presume is the original purple-corduroy-lined black case, still with the key that locks it! The sax is tarnished of course but not dented, and seems to be in good working condition. All keys work with smooth action, pads seem OK (I used to play, so I can at least just that much). I have no knowledge regarding vintage instrument worth, and hope someone could help with some guidance about its age and approximate worth. Thanks very much. -- Dave

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Saxquest
    (420 posts)

12 years ago

Re: American Standard High Grade Alto Saxophone Model # B301 - Value?

Hi Dave-

American Standard was one of the basic model saxophones sold by the HN White Company from about 1927 through the mid 1940's. The American Standard was introduced as an affordable alternative to the higher end models (Voll True or Zephyr, depending on what year you are talking about). There is no serial number chart that I know of for these instruments so its difficult to date it beyond this range. You can read more about the American Standard line of instruments offered by HN White on this web site in the museum section. There are several publications represented here with American Standard instruments. One of them is at the direct link below:

http://www.saxophone.org/museum/publications/id/78