Saxophone Forum

by scm2012
(9 posts)
12 years ago

The strangest newbie question...

Well, maybe this question is common, but I searched and searched the web for an answer...

I am totally new to the sax.  Only been practicing for 3 days now.   I am very serious about learning this instrument..

Well, what happens is that within minutes of begining a practice session (I spend 45 minutes a day practicing)  my eyes begin to water.  Then for the rest of the night --watery eyes.   They are ok by  morning.

I have thought of some possibilities:
I'm blowing it wrong  (Though I'm getting good sounds)
I'm sensitive to cork grease, the reed, or some chemical residue on the brass.
I'm trying to hard.
Its a coincedence.

My only other experience with blowing into an instrument is the shofar (an antelope horn) -- when I was learning it I would spend upwards of an hour a day blowing it without a physical symptom.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kelsey
    (930 posts)

12 years ago

Re: The strangest newbie question...

After playing 3 days your playing might make my eyes water? But seriously, could you be allergic to reeds?,

Barry Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

1. by scm2012
      (9 posts)

12 years ago

Original Quote:
      "After playing 3 days your playing might make my eyes water? But seriously, could you be allergic to reeds?,

LOL  maybe my playing is so soulful that it brings you to tears... Nah...  

I a wondering about the reed allergy idea...   So far I have been wetting the reed in my mouth before playing -- first time it had quite a taste -- like something was on it..  I expected it to taste like wood.

Tonight I wet the reed in tap water, and now I have practically no eye watering problem....

I am not an allergic type of person... But I'm noting a burning tongue at this point... 

This bums me out.  I never reacted to an instrument.   I want to be a sax player!

Well, I can try some reed alternatives...