Saxophone Forum

by teebs24
(7 posts)
12 years ago

Reed suggestions for Otto Link NY 7*

Hello everyone. I'm a long-time reader, but first-time poster. So, I think it is customary to give a little background on myself. I'll make it quick so we can get to the real question.

I've been playing saxophone for about 15 years I guess. I play exclusively tenor, I have never played alto (weird, I know). I was a pretty serious player in college (school jazz bands, dance band, marching band, pep band, etc.), but since I left school, the only place I play now is in church twice a week. I played on a Guardala King mouthpiece until about 6 months ago, then I switched to the Otto Link NY 7*. I loved the Guardala King for what it was, but it was just a little too much (bright, loud) for the church setting, hence the switch to the Link. Ok, now to my question

Does anyone have any reed suggestions to get a little more brightness and projection out of the Link? I know that Otto Links are one of the darker sounding mouthpieces out there. I like the ease and comfort of the Link for the church setting, but I need a little more volume and projection. 

My current setup is: Selmer Series III tenor, Rico Jazz Select reeds (3 strength, unfiled), and Otto Link NY 7* mouthpiece.

Any help would be much appreciated. Sorry for the long first post.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Zaxman
    (31 posts)

12 years ago

Re: Reed suggestions for Otto Link NY 7*

The Java Green box reeds can brightren those pices a bit.  To find the right reed it will take some experimenting but I can tell you if you are looking for a lively brighter sound on a  link avoid any reeds that have a reputation for already being dark, Vandoren Blue box, V12 etc.  
    Both of the Java reeds have a reputation for working well on those mouthpieces, the red box Java's tend to be a little bit darker.  You might also try the Alexander Superial DC reeds, they respond really well on most pieces.