Saxophone Forum

by historicsaxwhisperer
(644 posts)
10 years ago

Upper End Loaner Horns provided during repairs

Hello All, I am a conservatory trained saxophonist. I have been playing for 42 years. I still practice daily, but have found myself in the "Financial World" as my main field of income. In my spare time (Right), I have been restoring vintage saxophones for the past twenty years. This can be very profitable if you know what you are doing, which I do. I have found that the working jazz musicians in the Cincinnati Area love to just call me and want to drop by my home and have me fix their treasured 5K to 15K instrument at the drop of a hat. My name is getting out there even though I would prefer to just restore horns as opposed to working on horns that are actively being used. Many times it is very possible for me to drop what I'm doing to answer the call of a local jazz player in a bad spot. Sometimes its not and the local music stores (My competition?)are on a two week wait. Often players are reluctant to leave their horn with me for very long. A day or two at best. Sometime they just need them for teaching or playing a scheduled gig. I have had an epiphany!!. If I simply set up a few upper end horns I could use them as loaners while I worked on a players horn. They could keep working, I could enjoy my saxophone work and not feel like I'm on a time restraint. My saxophone work is what I do in my spare time, my relaxation away from a crazy financial world. A loaner would be free of cost to my customer. As long as the loaner is returned undamaged, it is just free use and shows my honesty as a tech. Since I have the players treasured horn as my collateral, I have no fear of not getting my loaner back from them. My reason for throwing this idea out there is just to see if this is something the saxophone community may find as a value when picking an experience saxophone tech or restorer. I don't accept email replys, so I'll check in often and see what others h