Saxophone Forum

by Derferick
(3 posts)
9 years ago

What key for blues?

I have been learning the alto sax for a couple of years and been lucky enough to find a couple of neighbours who play guitar and are willing to jam with me.

Can anyone tell me where I can find a table that tells me what blues scale to use on the sax when they are playing? For instance, if they are playing blues in Eb, I think I should use the E blues scale - is that right and where can I find a table that tells me for the other keys?

I am afraid that Google has not been my friend on this one.

I know NOTHING about music theory so please use words of one syllable.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Zaxman
    (31 posts)

9 years ago

Re: What key for blues?

The scale you are looking for is your C blues scale on alto.  C Eb F F# G Bb.  The alto is a transposing insturment.  If a guitar, piano or other concert pitch insturment is playing a given note, for example F, transpose down a minor 3rd or up a major 6th on the alto to a D.  If you do this you will be playing in the same key as them.

This can be very confusing at first.  Try a google for "transposing alto saxophone" and you will quickly see a few google images that chart out the transposition for alto and tenor sax.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by Derferick
      (3 posts)

9 years ago

I understand that the sax is a transposing instrument. I have found, by trial and error, a set of blues scales that seem to work with blues played in various keys.
      I was wondering whether there is a rule that specifies which blues scale I should play in when my friends are playing in their key.
      They play in Eb, I play in C?
      They play in F sharp - what, then do I play in?
      And so on.

Given the key thay are playing in for a "straight" tune, I know what key I should transpose to ( and using Musescore or Sebelius, that can be done) but do the same rules apply for a blues scale?