Saxophone Forum

by apoc7k
(20 posts)
19 years ago

Upgrading to a new horn...

Alright, I'm a sophomore in High School and I want to switch instruments. I'm planning to get into jazz very seriously and I want a horn that will be good and last throughout High School and College. I've looked through a number of horns but I haven't really decided what will be a good horn for me, and for that matter a good mouthpiece. Currently I'm using a low-end Yamaha and just have been looking at new horns for "the one". A few ones that I've been interested in are: - Selmer series III - Selmer series II - Selmer Mark VI - Selmer Reference 54 - Yani A9930 - Yani A9933 Anyways I would be very interested in a new horn but I guess I dont know what I should get. And also what would you guys recommend me looking to for a Jazz mouthpiece. I want something that will really project sound and have a nice rounded sound. Not something where its going to stick out really bad, just something that would sound good in a big band.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by chiamac
    (586 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Upgrading to a new horn...

why not get a old conn or a less expensive vintage horn... not because they are better than the ones you listed (allthough I would argue for the conns) BUT I would (and did) rather leave my $1000 conn in the band room overnight than a $3000 new/vintage horn. it's also less responsibilty... but that's just me.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by apoc7k
    (20 posts)

19 years ago