Saxophone Forum

by mega band geek
(60 posts)
19 years ago

Can I get you opion on this?

I'm a saxophonist. When I started playing in 6th grade, I fell in love with the bari sax right away. I found myself spending all of my spare time playing my sax, it was my absolute favorite thing to do. But lately, I've been loosing interest in playing. I don't have urges to practice anymore, I don't care if I'm not the top saxophone in the band, and recently, I find that I become very bored very quickly while playing in groups where I used to have a blast playing in. Is there anything I can do to rekindle my love for music? Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mega band geek
    (60 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Can I get you opion on this?

Yes, I do realize that I spelled opinion wrong...

Reply To Post AIM

1. by Deacon Blues
      (12 posts)

19 years ago

I can't believe thats possib, There are times when I think that maybe I was not cut out to be a saxman, like when the teacher emphasizes practice on some piece I find a little boring. I feel I can't be bothered to unpack the horn and run the scales. But when I blow through it, I can't believe I ever doubted it! Or when I hear it in a song. I can't see myself playing anything else!!! Just listen to a sax solo, play take five or something. I can't how you can't be moved after that.

Reply To Post

1. by bronzemonkey992
        (22 posts)

19 years ago

or go see a great jazz group like the Yellowjackets! They'll mae ya wanna play after watching them! (I saw them in Harrisburg, Pa last night, and wow what a great time!)

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by karebear1012
          (395 posts)

19 years ago