Saxophone Forum

by StrugglingFSUsax
(2 posts)
19 years ago

Development of classical saxophone and its place in music today...

Well, I stumbled upon this site so I might as well make use of it. I'm a freshman at Frostburg State University, I'm a music education major primary instrument alto sax. College has hit me with quite a few new things, music theory, marching band, aural skills...and more importantly, the art of classical saxophone. Up until this year in my mind classical was for violins. However I now have to write a five page paper on the development of classical saxophone and its place in music today; including the reception of it, technical developments, important works, composers who have made major contributions, the major players, and the major performers/teachers/schools of saxophone today. If any of you know of some good sites that I could find information like this I would be highly appreciative. So far, I have a single book, The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone, that my entire paper is riding on. Thank you. ~Alecia

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by PsuSax
    (25 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Development of classical saxophone and its place in music today...