Saxophone Forum

by Sportsax
(4 posts)
19 years ago

neck for LA-Sax Tenor

I have been playing this LA-Sax Tenor LA-800 since 1998 when I purchased it new. It plays great for me and have no plans to replace it with another horn. The only problem is that I have broke the neck off at the solder point during playing several times. I am considering replacing this neck with the copper Selmer on this website. Except for the logo, the design looks identical to the one I am using now. I believe this LA-Sax tenor is a Selmer clone. Anybody know if the Selmer neck will work on my tenor? Thanks for your help. Kevin C.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Sportsax
    (4 posts)

19 years ago

Re: neck for LA-Sax Tenor

Never mind Folks...I believe it will and besides, I can return it if it doesn't...thanks

Reply To Post

2. by frasermanx
    (9 posts)

19 years ago

Yo .. Hey I have one of those Tenor LaSax too!! But I never have liked the neck!! .. I was thinking getting a Barone neck... what MPC are you using? My serial # is 8-0126 I think but maybe not same horn as yours .. mine is black. The D2 is very stuffy when I play in the corner. I have tried Selmer C*, Runyon 7 RicoRoyal 5 with #3 fibracell and ligature reeds without improvement. I have spent a lot ot time regulating the horn, sealing leaks Compared to my Yamaha YTS-23, I like the LaSax Tenor a bit better, although the high notes are too thin, the low notes are good but the action is not very fluid. Please share some experinece. thanks

Reply To Post

1. by Sportsax
      (4 posts)

19 years ago