Saxophone Forum

by digbop
(6 posts)
19 years ago

buying new alto

I've been playing (trying to learn) alto sax for about 2 years. I use my son's Bundy II from his middle school days and am now in the market for my own sax. My local music store sells Selmer and Yamaha. I've tried the Selmer Series II and the Yamaha 875Z. I like the Yamaha better. My teacher feels that the Selmer is a "better" horn, but I like the feel and sound of the Yamaha! . . . Any suggestions? . . . Now I have read many things like, "try various horns and get the one that you like best." The problem is that I've heard that the brass on the Yamaha is not as hard (tough?) as that on the Selmer and so the Yamaha dents easily. Well, needless to say, if I'm paying $2,000 to $3,000 for a new horn, I want something that I won't have to baby too much. . . . Thank you in advance for any feed back.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Selmer Fan88
    (15 posts)

19 years ago

Re: buying new alto

Of course you should buy the horn you like most, but in a few years you'll maybe have to buy a new one... Do you know the Selmer Réference 54. It's really similar to the legend Mark VI, about the tone and Intonatin... but they even improved the handling. I'm going to buy this Horn.

Reply To Post

1. by digbop
      (6 posts)

19 years ago

Thanks for the thoughts. I don't think I can afford a Reference Selmer at this point.

Reply To Post

2. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

19 years ago