Saxophone Forum

by redkmd
(11 posts)
19 years ago

what sax is good first one when your 49 and never played

Hi what sax alto, tenor etc is good to learn on and what brand for a first one to learn on when Im 49 and never took a music lesson in my life but desire to commit myself to playing a sax as my new venture any help on what the cheapest i can get one to start with will help me greatly.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Hornnorm
    (2 posts)

19 years ago

Re: what sax is good first one when your 49 and never played

Redkmd, I'm in the same boat as you, I'm 30 and just decided to learn to play the saxophone a couple weeks ago. I took about 1 year of piano lessons when I was 10 years old, but other than that, I've had little experience learning music. My father and several friends are good musicians, so hopefully that will help me. My piano teacher said I had a very good ear for music, so hopefully I will be able to take to the sax well, with enough work and practice. I chose to play a tenor sax, because I always prefered the sound of them. I have not decided what model sax to buy, but I did rent a Yamaha YTS-23 from a music shop last week. I plan on taking lessons soon, and from there I'll probably decide what type of sax to get. I'm leaning towards the Yanigasawa saxes, because of the all positive posts I've read, that claim they are very nice, high quality, professional saxes for a good price. I would recommend that you rent a sax of your choice from a local music store, and start taking some lessons. Don't let any naysayers discourage you, I don't let them discourage me. With enough determination and work, you can succeed. In one of the jazz music books I purchased, it stated that Charlie "Bird" Parker practiced for 10-14 hours a day for 3 to 4 years to become so good. Just keep working at it, and I'm sure you'll be a great player some day. Good luck, Norm

Reply To Post

1. by redkmd
      (11 posts)

19 years ago