Saxophone Forum

by PIP
(29 posts)
19 years ago

Leadership woes

Hi! I am currently a sophomore in high school and have been told that I will most likely take over as section leader this next marching season for all of the saxophones. The problem with this is that when everyone heard this they all moaned in disagreement. You see, everyone in the saxophone section is unbelivably lazy. We have had a section leader for the past 2 years who hasn't cared enough to push the section at all. For instance most of the time during sectionals when all of the other sections are working, he would let the entire section sit under the trees. I am extremely worried about this next year because this will be a section of possibly 15 saxes, the largest in the band, who have been used to this other person's style. I on the other hand want to push this section to be better. The other part of the equation is that, because of my ability, I have experienced an awful lot of jealousy since I started my band career. The gap between me and my 2nd chair alto is huge and yet he takes every opportunity to cut me down and tell the section that I am unfit to lead. Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with this?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mooing_sheep
    (20 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Leadership woes

Challenge them to a duel! Or, just be assertive and let them get used to it. Otherwise, the saxes won't go anywhere, and that would be a shame. Hopefully you got the drum major on your side. Good luck and have fun!!!!!! :o)

Reply To Post

1. by eman19
      (131 posts)

19 years ago

If they complain, tell them to suck it up, (courtesy of my physics teacher) or get out. If they truly have no inspiration to play the instrument, let them know that you will make the band leader aware of their recalcitrance, and if it gets out of control, bring in the big gun (the band teacher) to straighten them out

Reply To Post

1. by bariguy
        (25 posts)

19 years ago