Saxophone Forum

by Sunyveil
(11 posts)
19 years ago

Sax quartet

I'm a freshman in high school, and I was thinking of starting a sax quartet. I have some friends that are pretty good players, but nowhere near pro or anything. We have two people that can play alto and tenor, one that can play tenor or bari, and one alto only, so I figure if I learn soprano we can be all set. The problem is that 1) is it really practical to start a quartet this early and 2) the alto only player wants to start playing trumpet, even though he's really good at alto. What should I do? thanks in advance

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jusjop
    (5 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Sax quartet

I play alto in a quartet we formed at my high school. I am a junior and so is the soprano player. The tenro and bari are sophmores. We play grade 7 peices for solo and ensemble and we just recently starting playing gigs for weddings. It's not to early, just dont bite off more than you can chew (i.e. dont play anything to far above your level of playing) Also, the more your quartet plays together the better you will get over time. Another very important component to having a succesful quartet is choosing dedicated players. Pick people who you know will want to get together on weekends for a good rehearsal.

Reply To Post AIM

2. by Spike
    (248 posts)

19 years ago