Saxophone Forum

by aravaioli
(24 posts)
19 years ago

Bandnow Tenor Sax: anyone has tried it?

I noticed music123 sells a tenor sax, branded as "Bandnow" for as little as 349$. That sounds scary enough, however I wonder if anybody of you has tried or heard something about this model. Granted that it can't be a great sax, would it be ok for a complete beginner or instead discouraging due to bad intonation and other issues? Its price is about 1/6 of a Yamaha YTS-23 so it's somehow tempting if it won't turn out into a music trap.... Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by aravaioli
    (24 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Bandnow Tenor Sax: anyone has tried it?

I forgot to add the possible alternatives: 1. Prelude by Selmer TS700 2. Jupiter 585GL Any opinion on those? They are around 1000$ each. Thanks again

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago

I've heard that the Band Now saxophones are not very good, but I haven't personally tried one. The Jupiter 585GL is a decent student horn. I haven't tried the Prelude. Giardinelli sells a Kohler sax that really isn't to bad. I was surprised. With a few adjustments, the Kohler played fairly well and had a decent tone. The quality of the forged keys and the leather pads on the Kohler was better than many of the cheap horns I've seen. I'm always very skeptical of anything too cheap!

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Here's the link for Giardinelli. They're associated with Musician's Friend, who I have delt with many times. www.giardinelli.com

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by tayoung301
    (1 post)

19 years ago