Saxophone Forum

by nectarios
(20 posts)
19 years ago

Total newbie

Hi. Having missed a great opportunity to get what appeared to be an expensive sax, really cheap, I am going down the new saxophone path. I love both alto and tenor horns and plan to aquire both at some point in the future, but since I'm a big Coltrane fun and the tone he has in the "Kind Of Blue" masterpiece, I've decided I'm gonna start off with the tenor. My choices are to get a Yamaha YTS-275, or a Keiwerth ST-90 from my local store. I could also get a Trevor James "The Horn" from the internet, but I'd rather support my local store and build a nice relationship with the people there and get their service which I am sure I'm going to need. What about mouthpieces? The guy from the shop suggested a silver Yanagisawa mouthpiece that is a little more expensive from the Selmer S80 C* and Otto Link 5 Ebonite mouthpieces. Any views on those? I'm thinking about getting a Rovner ligature and a bunch of Rico Royal No.2 Reeds. I really like Coltrane's sound, but quite dig the softer tone of the tenor as well. I am not too worried about that yet as I still haven't even produced one! But I'm excited I finally got the cash together and I can decide what I'm going to walk out from the store with (or order off the net, if you kind sirs think the Trevor James horn is the best). I'm also thinking about learning the basic fingering charts from a book/DVD before I start getting lessons from a teacher. So, if you have the time, let me know which horn is good, or the best (if I may say so) to start on and ways to go about in order to play this beautifull instrument and music. :)

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Total newbie