Saxophone Forum

by BlackEclipse
(11 posts)
19 years ago

Whats a good horn and reed to start with ?

I'm sorda a noob to Saxophones and Reeds, In Fact i'm a noob to all Reed Instruments. So, I ask, What is a good starter horn (Tenor Saxpohone) to buy, that's good for a starting Sax player (Not Beginner musician) and good reeds to start with. I want to play the type of music that Ray Charles played; Jazz, Blues, and R&B. Take into consideration that I played a C Major scale on a Bari. Sax once using a 4 reed. My teacher, who is a accomplished sax player, said it would be hard for me to play, it did'nt seem that hard to me, hmm ! maybe im special ! lol. I play Baritone (Not Saxophone), Euphonium, Tuba, Trumpet, and Trombone, very well. So being able to play those instruments will that affect my saxophone playing for the better or worse ? I want to play Tenor Sax. not Alto. Could ya'll also educate me in playing saxophone. I also have a budget, so anything over $1500 is to much. Thanks in Advance.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by 1saxcoconut
    (6 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Whats a good horn and reed to start with ?

Check out the DC Pro line at dominicmusic.com. Good prices.. Havent gotten one in yet but they sound impresive. I also played a Cannon Ball Big Bell Global Series they are way open.. Find one on ebay for around a grand.. read my post on DC Saxes in General discussion

Reply To Post

2. by rosscoe88
    (5 posts)

19 years ago