Saxophone Forum

by ebert
(18 posts)
19 years ago

fuzzy sound on new mouthpiece: please help!

I just recieved an Otto link tone master mouthpiece size 8 for my tenor and started playing it with vandoren zz size 2.5 and rico jazz select size 3s reeds. This mouthpiece is very open compared to what I am used to play, but i can't seem to get a very clear sound out of it. Is the mouthpiece just too open for me? I have been playing for 5 years and have enough embrocheur for it, but still sound fuzzy or "airy". The reed does not seem stiff, and I can get up and down the horn with relative ease, but that is the only thing i can think of that could make it sound the way it does. There are not much softer reeds than 2.5, and I do not think it is too hard, so what else could be wrong? Thanks

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: fuzzy sound on new mouthpiece: please help!

Is the mouthpiece new or used? If it's used, there could be a problem with the facing or you need to experiment with some different reeds. Your embouchre will need to adjust considreably if you are used to something like a tenor C* and jump to a Link 8. Maybe you could have another player who is used to playing open pieces give it a try on their horn? If it is a new mouthpiece, chances are the facing is in good shape, but that's no guarantee either.

Reply To Post

1. by johnsonfromwisconsin
      (767 posts)

19 years ago