Saxophone Forum

by awared
(1 post)
19 years ago

tenor or alto

I want to buy a saxophone. Other that my extensive research online and going to a store, and talking to a player and a professor I have no other knowledge of saxophones. I was wondering which type of saxophone should I choose. It seems to me tenor is bigger and a little lower (i don't understand EB stuff) and a little slower. Tenor is more furious and faster and out of controll while tenore is more held back even when it tries to go crazy it is sustained some how. and it seems tenor is a little more sad with a jazz tone and alto is a little happier. I have listen to some music already. should i leave the decision to destiny see what kind of sax would end up feeling right or should I have a stronger criteria? On what bases people choose whether they want to play alto or tenor? becuase they like higher notes? or they have smaller hands and breath?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by YanagisawA-901
    (312 posts)

19 years ago

Re: tenor or alto

its all personal preference. ur post confused the hell outta me. altos are in the key of Eb which probably means nothing to you. tenors i believe are 4 steps below alto.. which would make it Ab? nawww.. but i kno its 4 steps below. its personal preference tho dude. ive heard people play notes on tenor, that i cant even finger on alto w/o alternate fingerings. and even then i cant play em. theres no specific "mood" to alto or tenor. u can play whatever u want with either horns.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

2. by mcorrea
    (25 posts)

19 years ago

Re: tenor or alto