Saxophone Forum

by jen
(1 post)
19 years ago

Beginner needs recommendation

Hi, I'm just starting out and would like to purchase a beginner alto sax. I only have $300-$400 to spend. The only ones I can seem to find in this range are: Barrington 301, Kohlert 450, and BandNow. Any suggestions on what to start with or any other brands that would be a good starter? Your recommendations are appreciated. Jennifer

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by hawkman112757
    (7 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Beginner needs recommendation

i bought a stueben sax off ebay for around 375 total, have had it checked after two years of lessons. the horn was worked hard those years also.. the tech said every thing was right on, only minimal ajustment on the octave key,, naturally its not the high resale value of the betterhorns but i bought it to play not to resale! i think there like cars , even good ones can be lemons, but make sure to get a decent time warrenty to have time to check it out! hawkman112757

Reply To Post

2. by j_gally
    (19 posts)

19 years ago

Hi, I'm a beginner sax player also with only a range of 300-400 to spend. I've asked around a lot here, and it seems what most of them recommend is not to buy the brand-new shiny horns for around 200-300 dollars. Look on e-bay, or at your local music store. You can usually find a nice brand horn for around that price range if you really scavenge, some nice beginner horns are Selmer Bundy's and Yamaha YAS-23's, I think. Maybe a more experienced sax player could give you more answers but this is what I've heard for advice.

Reply To Post

1. by sax_maniac
      (984 posts)

19 years ago