Saxophone Forum

by mastervirtuoso
(1 post)
19 years ago

Professional Model?

Hi everyone, I was searching online and came upon this forum and decided to give it a shot. I'm a 17 year old student who will be going to college auditions around November I think. I've been playing since 6th grade, and I really enjoy the instrument. Currently, I play a Yamaha YAS-23 which as served me well so far, but I feel like I'm not getting all I can out of this intermediate saxophone, so I have started looking at professional models. I know that I could probably get tons of different responses and opinions to this, but I am just kind of curious as to what everyone's preferences are. Budget is not too big, I'm probably looking at around $3500 tops. I test played a few for just a few minutes each, and I didn't have a chance to check intonation so it was a pretty vague first impression. However, so far I was probably most impressed with the Selmer Reference 54 (a little too pricey, so looking to try Paris Series II sometime this week). I played a Keilworth which wasn't too bad, but I wasn't blown away either. I also played one of the Selmer Paris USA versions, and I was completely dissatisfied with that one. Several months ago I was lent a Conn by my teacher, and I loved playing it but I can't quite remember the model of it. Conn's website only shows 1 professional alto that they make, is this true? I have read some good stuff about the Yamaha professionals, but I don't know anywhere close to me that I could test play one. Any and all opinions are welcome and appreciated

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by cmclose
    (1 post)

19 years ago

Re: Professional Model?