Saxophone Forum

by stray dog
(16 posts)
19 years ago

Alto sound

Like many of you, I am a former serious musician interested in getting back to it. Looking for a new alto, and I'll try out as many instrument / mouthpiece combinations as I can. For what it's worth, rather than trying to find the proper adjectives, the sound I'm after is Paul Desmond. I'm curious as to which instruments, mouthpieces, ligatures, reeds some of you would suggest toward that end. I'll look forward to your comments. Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Alto sound

I'd look for a Conn 6M or a Buescher Aristocrat or 400

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by sstitt
      (10 posts)

19 years ago

I'd add the Martin handcraft to Connsaxman's candidates. Maybe a vintage Brilhart eboline MP.

Reply To Post

1. by phathorn
        (165 posts)

19 years ago

The Couf artist line of Mpcs are also conducive to such a sound.

Reply To Post

2. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Martin or King would also be good choices; however, I think the Conn or Buescher would give you more of a Desmond sound. I believe Desmond played a Buescher True Tone, and later an Aristocrat

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by mgasax
      (3 posts)

19 years ago

I'm a huge PD fan and get a sound similar to his from my set-up.... a Silver Conn New Wonder...Selmer C* mouthpiece...Rovner Ligature...and Zonda reeds. Works for me.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago