Saxophone Forum

by RedskinBob
(1 post)
19 years ago

playing time

I cannot seem to play longer than 45 min -- and then I cannot make 1/2 the notes in upper registers -- I change reed and all is perfect again. Why? How do I fix this. Using new tenor sax, 3 1/2 Vandoren reeds -- tried plastic coated ones -- results same. Never had this happen in college band. Very frustrating.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jaggtagg7
    (40 posts)

19 years ago

Re: playing time

question, do u start on brand new reed- not broken in, straight from the box ? it could be that they start to get "weaker" after the 45 min. you said you change reed, do you mean you get a new one? i'd say try different sizes, although i'm not an expert thats what i'd do. and maybe try breaking in some and seeing what happens, if the same thing or not.

Reply To Post AIM

2. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Sounds like a combination of things. If you haven't played in a while and you're just getting back into it, you need to work on your emboucher again. It will all come back to you in time. Second, I would try a 2 or 2 1/2 reed instead of the 3 1/2, and I would not recommend a filed (french cut) reed. I haven't had the best luck with Vandoren V16's either. Go with a Med. soft LaVos, or even a plain old orange box Rico. Finally, what mouthpiece are you using? You may want to choose a different facing. Jim

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by mintyfreshjam
      (48 posts)

19 years ago