Saxophone Forum

by Mike Pearce
(2 posts)
19 years ago

differences between these two

I am new to saxquest,I use a Conn 6M transitional at present which needs a lot of repair work.While it is being repaired in the UK (I live in Spain)I will be treating myself to either a Selmer Ref 54 or the Yanagisawa 9933.Anybody like to give me some opinions on these two?I'm trying to spend my pension before my wife does.Regards Mike Pearce

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: differences between these two

I really don't care much for either one. If you're used to the the vintage Conns, look at the Keilwerth SX 90R.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by Mike Pearce
      (2 posts)

19 years ago

thanks for the prompt reply. Now I am confused ,two friends have told me to stay away from the Keilwerth brand.I only picked on those two on advice and price.I'm not getting shut of my old Conn but I need a stopgap while its being fixed.I'm well aware that saxes can sound very different in other peoples hands,mouthpieces,where you are blowing from,reeds etc.so I want something thats going to get the sound I want.I'm going to the UK next week to get her repaired and try a few new ones out,I'm feeling rash so come on more suggestions please

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago