Saxophone Forum

by altosax
(19 posts)
19 years ago

trying to decide

I have been playing alto for abour 5 years, I play a yas 23, and I play mostly jazz. I am now thinking of buying a new saxophone but I can't decide if I want a Soprano a tenor or a better alto, what should I choose? would a better alto make a big difference?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

19 years ago

Re: trying to decide

Hmmmm, The Yas-23 is a good horn that I consider a quality intermediate instrument. (I usually classify horns as: crap, student, intermediate, entry-level pro, premium-pro) The question is how much do you have, and how enthused are you about expanding you're versitility? I personally wouldn't seriously consider a soprano unless you are prepared to do mosly solo work as it is not a standard instrument in swing or jazz ensembles. That said, if you're looking to aquire a premium instrument, alto will be cheaper. You should try a couple tenors somewhere to see if you think you'll like it. You should also try a number of altos to see if your Yamaha satisfies you compared to them. It's not an easy question.

Reply To Post

2. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

19 years ago

Hmmmm, The Yas-23 is a good horn that I consider a quality intermediate instrument. (I usually classify horns as: crap, student, intermediate, entry-level pro, premium-pro) The question is how much do you have, and how enthused are you about expanding you're versitility? I personally wouldn't seriously consider a soprano unless you are prepared to do mosly solo work as it is not a standard instrument in swing or jazz ensembles. That said, if you're looking to aquire a premium instrument, alto will be cheaper. You should try a couple tenors somewhere to see if you think you'll like it. You should also try a number of altos to see if your Yamaha satisfies you compared to them. It's not an easy question.

Reply To Post

3. by sax_maniac