Saxophone Forum

by burns3c
(7 posts)
19 years ago

Selmer Series III or Keilwerth SX90R?

I have been playing my 1926 conn chu berry alto for 6 years, and I am looking to purchase a modern tenor. I have done a ton of "googling" and I've read numerous reviews on both the Keilwerth SX90R and the Selmer Series III model 64. I have not yet actually played either one, but from what I've read both horns have a bigger, brighter, more resonant sound (my personal preference), and both are incredibly responsive. I have much more research to conduct, and I haven't yet ruled out a number of brands (I keep hearing good things about Yamaha and Yanigasawa's "Mark VI clones"), but I've more or less narrowed it down to these two horns. OPINIONS???

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Selmer Series III or Keilwerth SX90R?

I recently sold a Selmer series III soprano. I wasn't too happy with the instrument's overall quality. I replaced this soprano with a Keilwerth SX-90, and not only is the quality of the Keilwerth much better, the horn has a warmer, darker sound. I really like the tone and quality of the Keilwerth. The only Selmer horns that I would consider are their Reference Series. I'm just not a big fan of Selmer. The Keilwerth SX-90R with the soldered on tone rings sounds the most like your 1926 Chu Berry.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by burns3c
      (7 posts)

19 years ago

Yeah, right now I am more inclined to get the Keilwerth for a number of reasons (soldered tone rings, bigger sound, sheer uniqueness, PRICE!!)... I am a little skeptical of new selmers as well, seems to me that they've been using their established reputation to sell their horns (which I've heard have gone downhill) grossly overpriced. Every empire crumbles eventually... I think Selmer needs to wake up and lower their prices to compete with Yani, Yama and Keilwerth.

Reply To Post

1. by karebear1012
        (395 posts)

19 years ago