Saxophone Forum

by PIP
(29 posts)
19 years ago

"Pick up the pieces" solo

I am a sophomore in high school who mainly plays legit music. My band director asked a tenor player and me if we would play pick up the pieces for our end of the year banquet. I have the music but there is a sixteen bar solo in it and I have never improved in my life. I am having an extremely rough time trying to figure it out is there anyone out there who might tell me where I can find an alto sax solo to fill those sixteen bars?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: "Pick up the pieces" solo

That's a GREAT solo! One of my favorites. I play it on Tenor, and that's one of those songs that I love to play. Get a copy of the song and listen to it over and over until you've got the feel. That's the only way you're going to get it down. It doesn't have to be exactly like the record though. Stay close to the original solo and keep the same feel, but make it your own. The key to playing good improv is knowing your scales. I do a SMOKIN' tenor lead on this song! I start this solo like the original and then I do a funky stop-time thing with just me bass and drums. It sounds like a lot, but all I'm doing basically is playing one long blues scale, starting with low E and ending on altissimo G which I hold out till the start singing "pick up the pieces....uh huh..." I wish I had it on CD. I'd make a link of it for you.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by phathorn
      (165 posts)

19 years ago

That is usually the opening tune for our band. After the 486th time playing it, I let our trumpet player have the solo....we're about to switch to "skunk funk" as our new opener...should make the audience scratch their heads a bit.....:)

Reply To Post

2. by SaxMan88
      (318 posts)

19 years ago