Saxophone Forum

by istan
(15 posts)
19 years ago

Vintage Conn intonation

Hi, I'm an amateur r'n b sax player from Greece. I own an old Conn tenor #115250 which I bought during my training in Boston and I think that (according to charts) was made in 1926. My problem is that while it produces a wide strong sound, it plays sharp, although I pull the mouthpiece all the way out, resulting in a continuous struggling to be in tune playing with my band. I recently compared its neck with the neck of a Selmer reference 54 and I found it to be shorter (by the way, the sound of the Conn was stronger and wider). Can anybody please share any experience or suggest a solution to this (annoying) problem?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Vintage Conn intonation

What mpc are you using? You might need one with a larger chamber. Also, if it has a microtuner on the neck, maybe adjust it "longer". Could also be the pad heights are too open. Lots of possibilities. Is there someone else that you can have play the horn to see how it does for them?

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago