Saxophone Forum

by Saxdragon
(22 posts)
19 years ago

How can i learn to be a jazz player?

I've been learning to play sax since 1961. At this point in my life i can play blues, blues/rock, and R'n'B stuff fairly well. Many musicians I've performed with have told me I'm pretty good. The most prestigious stage I was evr on was BB King's in Times Square, so I'm not a total musical fool. But the truth is, I don't know what I'm doing. I feel always just on the verge of complete collapse, unless I'm playing the simplest sort of changes in the most comfortable key. I still remember the night I accepted an invitation to come up and sit in with a band that heard me playing with my regular guys. The called the tune - "Respect" - by Aretha. I knew I had no idea how to play that solo, but figured I'd come up with something. But they played it in a key that I was unfamiliar with. I fell flat on my face. I still have no idea what I played, but I left the stage as quickly as possible, cold sweat trickling down my neck. I admire jazz but it makes no sense to me whatsoever. I'm completely lost as soon as I try to jump in. Unless it's very rock or blues oriented, I can't handle it. The worst of it is...I have no idea about how to learn it. I listen to it and it just makes me feel intimidated. I feel like a sax player who can't do jazz changes is a fraud. Any advice...or thoughts...or suggestions...opinions...? Thanks

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

19 years ago

Re: How can i learn to be a jazz player?

test

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

2. by knorter
    (205 posts)

19 years ago