Saxophone Forum

by Benders_Here
(3 posts)
7 years ago

Equipment advice for sound searching

I'm not exactly new to saxophone, but I'm new to the world of non-stock equipment and I'm having a bit of trouble finding the sound I want. I currently have a Yamaha YAS-23 Alto, and I love it to death. With it, I've been using a hard rubber Meyer 6, Vandoren V16 (3 1/2) reeds and a Rovner C1HL ligature. I don't dislike the sound the combination produces, it's just not what I want. I primarily use my Alto for Jazz, and not so much Classical. I'm looking for a tone that's crisp and bright, but also very warm. I also should include that I'm a college student, so I don't really have a big budget. I'm not prepared to get a new saxophone either, so I'm more looking for tips on mouthpiece, reed, or ligature modifications. Thank you!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by agc8
    (25 posts)

6 years ago

Re: Equipment advice for sound searching

Materials used. I'm guessing most if not all horns are made of brass to some degree (percentages) and then covered either w/ lacquered or plating. Or UL. Or are most starting with simply a steel body?

Most agree plating does nothing to affect the sound and is just cossmetic. 

But is there a noticeable difference with a "solid brass" or "solid copper" sax (e.g. Rampone & Cazzani...Antigua Winds' Power Bell line has offers it in 10 different "finishes"...one they call "classic brass body and keys" and another "Vintage Copper body and keys". They do mention when a finish is lacquered or a plating. Does that mean these are also plated finishes but just chose not to say so? Or are they mostly "solid" brass or copper? 

There doesn't seem to be many makers of horns that say they make "solid brass" or copper horns. The only other one that is making that claim is "Sax Gourmet" (besides Rampone & Cazzani). Are there others we know do make actual brass or copper horns??

Reply To Post

1. by mijderf
      (282 posts)