Saxophone Forum

by Christill1
(4 posts)
6 years ago

How to Sell Two Selmer Mark VI Saxophones?

I recently acquired two Selmer Mark VI saxophones, a 1958 tenor and a 1960 alto. Though I am a professional online vintage instrument dealer, as they are each worth $5k-$10k or so (broadly speaking), I am loath to sell them on eBay. Nor do I want to wholesale them to a store. I'm wondering about placing them with a big auction company like Christie's or Sotheby's. My question is: Can anyone recommend an appropriate auction company?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Jafrowhite
    (1 post)

4 years ago

Re: How to Sell Two Selmer Mark VI Saxophones?

Emilio can. you can try talk to robertos winds.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

2. by GFC
    (842 posts)

6 years ago

What's wrong with eBay?

Reply To Post

1. by Christill1
      (4 posts)

6 years ago

I love eBay. It's just that I've never sold something that expensive online before. One rule of thumb as an online seller is not to sell something that one is not willing to lose. I don't mind selling instruments up to maybe a couple or three thousand dollars online because, to be candid, if I lose it, I can basically absorb the loss. These saxes are in a different category for me. 

Reply To Post

1. by GFC
        (842 posts)

6 years ago

I guess that would come under the "eBay is seller unfriendly" heading of complaints, in which you have some prominent company.  

My initial reaction to your mention of Christie's and Sotheby's was that it would be a sure-fire way to put those horns in the hands of rich collectors and dillettantes, which rubs me the wrong way.  But then I can't argue with somebody trying to make a living maximizing their return on a rare opportunity and I'm not convinced that the monetary value of VIes reflects their actual value from a playing standpoint.