Saxophone Forum

by Archiorg
(1 post)
6 years ago

B flat can't reach

Hi guys, I recently bought Startone SAS-75 saxophone. I have been playing clarinet for almost 15 years. I basically learned to get the tone on sax in couple of days. My major problem is now that there is no way for me to reach with my left pinky B flat key. I compared my saxophone to other manufacturers, on YouTube videos, and I noticed on other saxophones that bundle of left pinky keys are closer to ring finger.

Is there any way to sort this out?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by historicsaxwhisperer
    (644 posts)

6 years ago

Re: B flat can't reach

Your hand position must be incorrect.

The easiest way is to research it on line.

You need to have your hand in a more horizontal  to the floor position and then practice in front of a mirror.

Or try a different horn. Go to a music shop and try one out.

I have never heard of your particular horn so it may simply be made badly.

Good Luck

Reply To Post

2. by bjroosevelt
    (47 posts)

6 years ago

Hi,
    I have small hands for a male musician and I have similar problems with the b-flat key.  Every saxophone I have tried has different challenges.  I’ve figured it out on my Selmer Mark 7.  On this horn it has taken me quite some time to learn how to hit the b-flat portion of the key cluster, without ’rubbing up’ against any other keys.....and an inadvertent touch will open something up you don’t want, thus making the b-flat hard to get out.  In addition, my horn needed some adjusting to make sure all of the mechanics on the bell were operating perfectly.

Interestingly, my old Conn is the easiest to find the b-flat key on, but having small hands on that instrument causes all sorts of other ergonomic problems.