Saxophone Forum

by Big Beat
(3 posts)
6 years ago

Which is better to learn on, a 1924 Buescher or a 1958 Elkhart?

Hello, I'm new to the sax, but always wanted to learn. Need some collective wisdom. I ended up with two vintage saxes,  a 1924 Buescher True Tone and a 1958 Elkhart by Buescher, model 21A. I had a local repairman check them out, both are fine mechanically but each needs a full repadding and overhaul. Both have been stored unplayed for decades. The True Tone is gold, the Elkhart is silver with a gold wash bell. The Elkhart also has a couple of minor dents, the True Tone doesn't. I was quoted about $500-600 for the overhaul of either sax. The repairman said that the horns are of about equal value, with either one to be worth about $1K after the overhaul. 

My question is this: which of the two is the better candidate for a beginner to invest into & start learning on? 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by historicsaxwhisperer
    (644 posts)

6 years ago

Re: Which is better to learn on, a 1924 Buescher or a 1958 Elkhart?

As you probably already have discovered, they are basically the same horn.

The True Tone, after market lacquered brass, has alternate side bell keys. No front F.

It will come down to a personal choice. If the True tone has the original snap in resonators, and the technician plans on keeping them, I would consider that route. The Elkhart will not have the snap in resonators. The True Tone  is not a gold plated horn.

The Elkhart has a front high F and that is the deal maker.

Go with the Elkhart, but it will never be worth 1000 bucks.

Closer to 650 after being set up correctly. Make sure resonator pads are used not simple rivet pads.

Good Luck

Reply To Post

1. by Big Beat
      (3 posts)

6 years ago

Thank you!

What do you mean, aftermarket lacquered brass? Does it appear to be re-lacquered and not the original finish?