Saxophone Forum

by juansax
(2 posts)
5 years ago

Octave B extremely flat, A self growling, etc

Hi everyone, after reading several posts for some time now i feel i need to explain my situation and see if i can get some feedback.

I play the sax for almost 2 and a half years by now, so im still new in this world in a sense. With time im starting to take notice of some vices i have when i play and slowly i am trying to correct them.

Playing in tune is one of my ultimate goals (to whom not?), for that porpouse i started paying atention and working on my singing voice and doing some simple ear training stuff. I realize that i am in tune if im RELAXED, if not i build a tension that messes up the whole thing. 

Recently ive been noticing that my embouchure is not that good, i need to stop biting on the higher register, sadly its almost second nature. My move is trying to play with my embouchure as relaxed as possible. The thing is that doing this i find that if i play a middle B relaxed and then press the octave key, the note sounds SUPER flat,almost an A. Sometimes if i do it super slowly, it doesnt even sound a note. As well, If i play an octave G, Ab and A, for the first seconds note sounds usually good but then a growling low sound appears. My sax is a tenor KING CLEVEAND and mpc is a Daddario Select Jazz 6. Many good sax players and teachers tried my sax and mpc and found it OK, one teacher told me that in this not so modern saxes you need a little extra pressure on that B to put it in tune, but i didnt read that almost anywhere here. Is that true? Or i am doing stuff wrong?