Saxophone Forum

by alikamalia007
(1 post)
19 years ago

Two saxes at once...

I've been playing sax for 7 years... and I'm just learning how to play 2 saxes at once... I almost have the right embouchure. anybody have any tips? And when you do that, can you only play the top couple keys on both? Thanx

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by KA
    (1 post)

7 years ago

Re: Two saxes at once...

I literally just started trying to play tenor and bari at the same time (like over the last hour).  My first task was customizing my harness, but I still need more stability.   I can get air through both but need more bari mouthpiece in my mouth to get equal sound from both.  Any embouchure tips?  I've arranged a part for this particular case so that's no issue.  Executing it is.  (New here, don't crucify me yet, lol!!). Thanks all!!!  KA

Reply To Post

2. by kelsey
    (930 posts)

7 years ago

My advice is learn to play one saxophone really well, then play one saxophone. 

Barry Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

3. by Saxshrike
    (3 posts)

7 years ago

Roland Kirk used to play three saxes at once.  He apparently had an enormous mouth in order to hold three mouthpieces.  I tried this years ago with a tenor and an alto.  Using the uuper stack I was able to simultaneously play Sentimental Journey.  However, except as a stunt, I can't imagine why you'd want to do this - it doesn't sound very good as I recall.

If you're determined to do this, your left hand will play the upper register and the palm keys.  This will let you run the scale from G to F in the upper register and G to C# in the middle register.  You'll need the octave key for the upper register, of course.