Saxophone Forum

by AlexEik
(11 posts)
5 years ago

Chipping Bari Reeds over and over

Hi, this is my first post on this forum or any forum. and its because im desperate. I played bari for 2 years in middle school and now im a freshman in highschool and the BD asked me to play bari in jazz band. Anyways, Im go through reeds at a crazy pace. I dont know what Im doing. They reeds are usually tearing down the middle. not chipping just tearing. then after it tears it will usually chip off. Ive gone through 5 reeds in two weeks. and as you probably know bari reeds are pretty pricey. i dont have this problem on my alto as my reeds last atleast a month. Im desperate for an answer. I've asked one of the older sax players he said i must be hitting the reed on something but that doesnt make sense since its not chipping. my thought was that Im tounging in a weird way and some how breaking the reed. I thought i might of gotten just a bad batch of reeds so i ordered some more from a different brand and the same thing happened. I play strength 3 if anyone was wondering. Thank you for any tips or ideas. 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mijderf
    (282 posts)

5 years ago

Re: Chipping Bari Reeds over and over

It would be helpful to know what reed strength and what mouthpiece (and tip size) you are playing.  Some things that come to mind are:
    1.  Examine your mouthpiece tip and make sure it is smooth and flat from side to side of the mouthpiece.  If there is a high spot in the middle it might be forcing the reed to bend in a way that it splits.
    2.  If you are using too much embouchure pressure or biting (this seems counter productive on a baritone) you can sometimes damage a reed. If you have played mostly alto in the past, you might need to loosen your embouchure a bit for bari.
    3.  Is the tip of your reed extending out beyond the tip of the mouthpiece, so that you could be    bending it when you tongue?