Saxophone Forum

by dry_martini
(3 posts)
4 years ago

Tips on how to play Eb to low C smoothly?

Hi,

First post here.

I'm a complete beginner on sax (alto) (though 30+ years guitar player), so I'm just learning fingerings and scales by heart at the moment.

I'm working on the C minor pentatonic scale,  and I have trouble playing the Eb to low C smoothly. Unless I play very slowly, I'm not able to NOT play D. Is there a drill to get the Eb to C step down smoothly? I play Eb with my right pinky (obviously), and I'm trying to play C with the joint of that finger. Is that the way? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by mijderf
    (282 posts)

4 years ago

Re: Tips on how to play Eb to low C smoothly?

Low Eb and low C are both played using the right hand pinky finger.  To go from Eb to C (or vice versa) you slide the right pinky over the rollers to get from one note to the next.  This will avoid having the Eb release prior to the C being depressed (this is what makes the D play).
    There are also rollers on the left hand pinky table to allow your finger to roll from one key to the next.
    It is not a perfect system, and it can take a little practice to get these transitions to sound smooth.
    Good luck! 

Reply To Post

1. by dry_martini
      (3 posts)

4 years ago

Original Quote:

"Low Eb and low C are both played using the right hand pinky finger.  To go from Eb to C (or vice versa) you slide the right pinky over the rollers to get from one note to the next.  This will avoid having the Eb release prior to the C being depressed (this is what makes the D play).There are also rollers on the left hand pinky table to allow your finger to roll from one key to the next.It is not a perfect system, and it can take a little practice to get these transitions to sound smooth.Good luck!" 

Thank you for replying.