Saxophone Forum

by jerrydog
(1 post)
18 years ago

Funny noises

Let me begin by stating that I am a beginner. I have been taking lessons for just under a year and practice religously. Let me also state that I am soon to be fifty. I have two tenors. My first sax is a SELMER SERIE III. My second sax is a KESSLER CUSTOM purchsed mostly to take camping in the woods. My problem is the SELMER (or myself) has a hard time going smoothly from middle C, B and A to D when slurring. Funny noises come out. For a long time I thought the problem was me. My teacher said I wasn't dropping all my fingers at the same time and to practice, practice, practice. Then I bought the KESSLER and it doesn't have that problem. I took the SELMER to the local (only music store within a few hundred miles) store where I bought it and had the tech take a look. He said he found a few minor leaks, made some adjustments and gave it back. No charge. The C to D was a bit better but that was it. I took it back again and again he made some adjustments. It still isn't right. The sad thing is I blow the KESSLER even though the tone and action aren't as nice. Should I send the SELMER somewhere out of state? I live in a little town in Montana so my resourses locally are limited to the store I bought the horn at. Or is the problem me and my teacher is right? I need to practice more? Any advice from a veteran would be very helpful.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxtech
    (12 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Funny noises