Saxophone Forum

by altosax4ever
(8 posts)
18 years ago

Pro Alto!!!

I've been playing sax for 5 years now, (a freshman in high school) and i'm very serious about playing. I usually practice for 2 - 2 1/2 hours each day, and I'm very sure that I want to go into music (preferably performance) after school. My question is this. I'm playing ona yamaha 23 starter horn, and I'm now ready to make the leap into a professional one. I absolutely adore the Selmer series II superaction 80, but I've never tried the series III. Should I stick with Yamaha? Any suggestions? If it helps, i'm using a C* mouthpiece with a vandorian optimum ligature, and i LOVE playing jazz. Thanks in advance, R Reply to post

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by clamness
    (13 posts)

15 years ago

Re: Pro Alto!!!

i agree with the mauriats being good. also check out keilwerths with the rolled tone holes - pretty sweet.

Reply To Post

2. by wkusax87
    (12 posts)

15 years ago

I own a Cannonball professional horn. Most people that don't have high opinions of them haven't played them enough to compare. I have a sax teacher for my college lessons who played on Broadway for 20 years, and has played at Radio City music hall for 25. I'm pretty sure he went to the Eastman school of music. Anyways, he loves my Cannonball. Plus, they're more affordable. Just get a horn that feels comfortable to you, and practice. The more you work on overtones and tuning, the better you will become at playing that particular sax.

Reply To Post

3. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

18 years ago