Saxophone Forum

by duoheer
(15 posts)
18 years ago

Improving my sound

Hey, im a high school student and i play alto. Im currently using a Meyer 6 hard rubber, Vandoren ZZ read 3, and Roverner light ligature. But im lookin for a more projective and bright sound, any suggestions?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxdudedc
    (11 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Improving my sound

first of all, I would switch my moutpiece to a more classical moutpiece such as a C* or LT and go with the Vandoren blue box reeds. And most importantly don't use a rovner ligature. I used to use a rovner and found that I got a rough sound. Choose from a BG clarinet ligature (not the alto one), Charlie Bay, or a Vandoren Optimum. Since you are playing in a high school band, you'll probably play a lot more classical pieces so those accessories should help you. Hope this was helpful.

Reply To Post

1. by saxdudedc
      (11 posts)

18 years ago

Also, get a private teacher. He or she should know best about improving your sound

Reply To Post

1. by YanagisawA-901
        (312 posts)

18 years ago