Saxophone Forum

by TechSci
(2 posts)
18 years ago

Classical Tenor Mouthpiece

My youngster, playing for only a few months, wants to move up from the Yamaha 4C mouthpiece on his Yamaha 62II, to a better mouthpiece. I've read articles that say the Selmer C* recommended by many actually has too small an opening. It is actually .70 which is very close to the alto .66, and something closer to .80 would be better... like the Selmer D, or others. See: www.saxontheweb.net/Coats/mouthpiece.html#sizes What are your views on mouthpiece upgrade from Yamaha 4C. He is doing very well in band.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by MarkLavelle
    (300 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Classical Tenor Mouthpiece

I'm no expert, but I switched to a Yamaha 5C shortly after starting to play and thought it was a step up. I'm pretty sure it cost me less than $25, too (somewhere online)... As Yamaha says: 'Provides a somewhat richer tone with greater variety of colors than 4C and excellent flexibility and response. Popular with soloists.' (OK, I might have left out the 'excellent,' but I guess they're gonna brag no matter what!)

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

18 years ago

With a Yamaha YTS-62Series II, I would suggest either the Selmer Larry Teal mouthpiece in a D* facing or a Brilhart Ebolin 4* tenor mouthpiece. I agree, the Selmer C* would not be a good choice, and I absolutely would not recommend a Selmer S-80. For the price, the Brilhart is pretty hard to beat!

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

18 years ago