Saxophone Forum

by PTKV
(4 posts)
18 years ago

The $1,000 soprano sax - Recommendations?

I'd like to buy a soprano sax (straight, not curved) for around $1,000. I've seen good reviews of the Antigua WInds and the Woodwind/Brasswind models. I like Keilwerth's reputation, but I haven't seen a review of the ST90. Does anyone have any opinions on a "best buy"? Have I overlooked a better $1,000 soprano sax than the ones I've listed? Thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Jazzsax0707
    (1 post)

18 years ago

Re: The $1,000 soprano sax - Recommendations?

I have been playing a Jupiter 547 for about 15 years. It is my double horn as I mainly play tenor. Here is a review of the 847 and 547 about $800 difference in price. www.saxontheweb.net/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-44260.html My experience with the 547 has been very posative. I play either a selmer C metal jazz mpc., or a Selmer s80 on the horn depending on my mood. The horn has been in the shop once about 2 years ago for a weak g# spring. Other than that it has given me absolutely no problems. You might find a new one for just a little over $1000. Looking on ebay, one sold last week for $288, wow.

Reply To Post

2. by CountSpatula
    (602 posts)

18 years ago

Good luck....

Reply To Post AIM

1. by PTKV
      (4 posts)

18 years ago

Hello CountSpatula - "Good luck"? I suppose this means I need to spend more $. Let me know your opinion - what brands I should be looking at and how deeply I need to dig into my pocket...

Reply To Post

1. by CountSpatula
        (602 posts)

18 years ago

More money you spend the better horn you will get. Soprannos have the worst reputation of playing WAY out of tune. Rampone and Cazanni, Yanagisawa, and Keilwerth are 3 brands with excellent intonation, but I don't know how cheap they can be. Yamahas are decent.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by CountSpatula
          (602 posts)

18 years ago