Saxophone Forum

by 9daysfreak
(1 post)
20 years ago

this reed = that reed

Hey! I play on a Selmer S80 mpc. and am currently using Vandoren Java 2.5 reeds. buut . i think i'm need of a change. I have also tried out the Vandoren ZZ #3s. they are all right. now really what i'm looking for. i'm looking to try a Fibercell or Bari does anybody know or can approximate the Java 2.5 to a Fibercell or Bari size? also. optimum ligs. is a good investment? i'm a student. and need to make my decisions wisely. also. mouthpiece wise. i'm looking to get a more jazzier sound without the cost of a metal one. any suggestions?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by quinsanity
    (2 posts)

12 years ago

Re: this reed = that reed

look at my post below. best thing to do is to find a setup similar to what you have now until you know what comfort fits your style. Remember your sound comes from you, not you piece. your piece just helps you get there. So see what your influences/idols are playing on and find a similar piece. doesn't have to be the same, but something that fits you but ,ight be similar to their sit up.

Reply To Post

2. by Saxmanrobg
    (1 post)

20 years ago

Java 2.5 is close to a medium soft or medium Fibracell. Its in the middle. I use fibracells I highly recomend them. if you get the medium you can adjust it to be as close to the 2.5 java as possible.

Reply To Post

1. by FISHERMAN
      (31 posts)

20 years ago

I DO NOT KNOW THE COMPARISON BUT YOU SHOULD LOOK AT THE ALEXANDER SUPERIALS THERE WEB SITE HAS A CHART FOR CHANGEOVER. SYD AT SAXQUEST RECOMMENDED TO ME AND I WILL NEVER GO BACK AGAIN. LIG'S I USE LOUIS FRANCOIS LIGS ON ALL MY HORNS. I WOULD LIKE TO TRY A OLEGATURE LIG OUT THOUGH. BOTH ARE A LITTLE HIGHER IN PRICE BUT YOU PAY FOR QUALITY. ALSO DEPENDS ON WHAT TYPE OF SOUND YOU ARE LOOKING FOR. GOOD LUCK

Reply To Post

3. by BreckerBrothersaregods!
    (23 posts)

20 years ago