Saxophone Forum

by bleeding-gums
(5 posts)
17 years ago

metal mouthpieces for alto?

hi i have been playing saxophone for around 10 months, but i feel as though i am getting above the current yamaha mouthpiece i have, and my teacher has said that getting a new mouthpiece will help my tone/playing etc. there have been 4 mouthpieces i have been looking at num 1. Bari gold for alto. num 2. otto link metal for alto. num. 3 ebonite meyer 5, and lastly ebonite otto link. i would love to get a metal mouthpiece, mainly because of the gleaming good looks, but i have seen alot of negative comments against metal mouthpieces for alto so i am a little baffled of what to get. i am into hard bop jazz, soul jazz, bebop, blues and a little latin jazz thxs for your time, comments will be appreciated.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by bleeding-gums
    (5 posts)

17 years ago

Re: metal mouthpieces for alto?

oh and if anyone can give me the link of a place where you can buy a new york meyer mouthpiece it would be appreciated

Reply To Post

2. by The Insomniac Saxman
    (141 posts)

17 years ago

Since you've only been playing about 10 months, I'd say forget about dropping the bread on a NY Meyer. For what you're looking to do, just pick up a Meyer 5M or 6M . . . they have a pure round chamber and very little baffle which will be good for the development of your fundamentals. Also, realize that asthetics should not be the factor that influences your decision on musical equipment-- the "gleaming good looks" of a mouthpiece will not guarantee the desired effect for your playing. Along the same lines, there are plenty of beautiful looking horns that play poorly and plenty of ugly horns that play spectacular. Work on solid fundamentals with a good pure mouthpiece, and you'll be far ahead of the game. Best of luck!

Reply To Post

1. by bleeding-gums
      (5 posts)

17 years ago